The Book Nook

January is generally my least favourite month. I’m not keen on the short, cold, dark days, while I wait for the coming of spring. So it’s an ideal time for reading and listening to audiobooks. I have been a busy book bee this month. I thought I would share my January reads. It’s been a mixed lot at my January Book Nook.

Image result for the rosie project

 

I really enjoyed this feel good book. It was a really easy, fun read. Narrated by a charming and socially challenged genetics professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love. It made me reflect that we can have an idea of what we need or what we like but sometimes it’s only when we try something different that we discover what really would be best for us. I’m looking forward to reading The Rosie Effect later in the year.

Rated – 

 

Image result for gone girl

So I am not generally an avid reader of mystery/thriller books. However, this book had received a lot of good reviews, has been adapted for film and I was able to borrow it. I didn’t really enjoy reading this. For at least 2/3 of the book I did not feel engaged in the story at all. I find myself just not really caring what happened to the two main characters. It was curiosity as to why the book was so popular, that kept me reading. By the end of the book I was left feeling like I had spent far too much time in the company of some unlikable people. I still didn’t feel engaged in the story that much by the end. I don’t think this style of book is for me and I  won’t seek out this author in future. I will pass on the film too!

Rated – Image result for 2 stars

Image result for the nightingale

There has been a lot of hype with this book so I was a bit cautious about how good it would be. It was a very good read. I was engaged from the beginning and throughout. It highlighted the experiences of those living in France during the Nazi invasion and how bleak life became. It had some strong, resilient characters, in particular the two sisters who are the main characters. At times heartwarming  and at times very harrowing, telling stories of what people did to try and survive and to help others. Having not long since finished The Storyteller, I will be having a break from reading books about the horrors of the Nazi regime. I will be watching the forthcoming film though.

Rated – 

Image result for small island andrea levy

This book as been on my TBR bookshelf a long time. As part of my Popsugar 2017 Reading Challenge I finally committed myself to reading this. The historical context of this book is interesting – the early years of the Windrush generation. It highlights an uncomfortable, discriminatory time in post-war Britain and the difficulties experienced by new arrivals, hoping to make a new life. The story is told using four voices Hortense, Gilbert, Queenie and Bernard. It does feel quite disjointed and drawn out. I don’t feel a great deal really happened, although it is very well written. I was at least 3/4 of the way through this book before I really felt engaged in the story.

Rated – Image result for 2 stars

Image result for the silver witch

After some quite heavy reads this month, I decided to end the month with a lighter, easier read. I have read some of Paula Brackston’s books before so I know there is always a witch theme. The book has two narratives. In the present day Tilda is dealing with the grief of her husband’s death and has recently moved to a secluded cottage. Then  Seren a witch and shaman in Celtic times who lived in the area. Based in the Welsh Hills and a lake in the valley below. I found this an enjoyable, easy read with an engaging story. It’s not demanding so it was just what I needed.

Rated – 

What have you been reading lately?

Have you read any of these books? How did you rate them?

What are you planning to read in February?

 

10 thoughts on “The Book Nook

  1. I’ve not read any of these books, though I have heard poor reviews on Gone Girl. Currently I am finishing a fantasy romance novel, which is an unusual genre for me (romance — not fantasy). After that I will need to decide which of the books I got for Christmas to read next.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

