Four Little Finds

Here at Cultivating Time it’s share time. Here are some little finds that have grabbed my attention in January.

On the 18th of January it was Winnie The Pooh Day. A timeless, classic British children’s book series that is much loved across the world. Check out –

10+ Of The Best Winnie The Pooh Quotes To Celebrate Winnie The Pooh Day

Inspiring Winnie Pooh Quotes
This is one of my favourite Winnie the Pooh quotes

Also during January – there were a lot of red hearts circulating on Facebook. People were asking each other to post a heart on their Facebook wall to honor breast cancer awareness. Call me cynical but I don’t understand the point of this sort of thing. We all know about breast cancer. How does posting red love hearts actually help? One breast cancer survivor, Erin Smith Chieze, decided to help women fight breast cancer in a different way with Know Your Lemons. I thought it was a brilliant idea and definitely worth sharing. 

For more information, please visit Know Your Lemons

I am someone who needs a good hug sometimes. I know not everyone is a hugger. Being hugged may benefit women more than men, new studies suggest. Everyone could benefit from a warm hug on a regular basis, but women actually need it in order to stay healthy.This interesting little video about hugs got my attention. What do you think?

Women Need To Be Hugged Once A Day For Their Health

Image result for animal hug

I am an avid fiction reader and I really enjoy audiobooks. I am not part of a book club but I fund this interesting list on Book Bub –

The Most Popular Book Club Books of the Past Decade

Image result for books

I can tick off – The Nightingale, Gone Girl, The Book Theif, Nineteen Minutes, A Thousand Splendid Suns, Cutting for Stone, Me Before You, A Man Called Ove, All the Light we Cannot See, Station Eleven, The Girl on the Train.

On my reading list for 2017 is – The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, The Invention of Wings

Which books have you ticked off the list?

Which ones were you favourites or least favourite reads?

14 thoughts on “Four Little Finds

  1. First off, i had no idea I totally missed Winnie the Pooh day. Winnie the Pooh and the gang from the Hundred Acre Woods are my absolute favorite. I have a little Pooh plush bear that my husband gave me on a recent trip to Disney World, and I know all the books by heart. The quotation you cited is my favorite as well. I like to think of myself as Piglet at heart :-)

    Secondly, I wholeheartedly agree about the pointlessness of these social media things to “raise awareness” for breast cancer or any other widely spread afflictions. (For example, seeing something to “raise awareness for hunger” strikes me as one of the most bizarre things, seeing as everyone understands the concept that food is required to live.) Anyway, thank you for sharing this practical link to help women detect breast cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to confess I never read Whinnie the Pooh as a child! They books have some fantastic quotes which as an adult I can relate to. It’s good to know I’m not the only one who is cynical about some of the social media stuff. I think the ‘Know your Lemons’ campaign is great.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I only give hugs to people who are close to me and have touched my heart. I am quite reserved but do like a hug from time to time, no one is an island, right? I’ve not seen any red hearts, I mustn’t be reading enough blogs!! Though I agree, breast cancer is one of the most aware cancers there are, with initiatives all the time. I’ve not read much from the book list, but the one’s I’ve read are, Water for Elephants, The Hunger Games, (the second book was my favourite), I’ve got the Goldfinch and The Light we Cannot See sitting on my sideboard, ready when I’ve finished H is for Hawk. I read Girl on a Train by A J Waines but not The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I was a bit miffied I read the wrong book and thought while watching the film, ‘this isn’t at all like the book’. I wonder why lol! :o!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m not inclined to hug people I don’t know well and definitely not strangers! I loved cuddling up with my dog and I do miss that. The lovehearts were mainly shared by people on Facebook. I’ve seen the Hunger Games films so I tend not to bother with a book if I’ve seen the film first. I try to red the book before the film usually. I have Goldfinch to read. I’m not sure what to expect. Oh no – you read the wrong book – when did you realise it was the wrong one? That’s so funny. I didn’t rate The Girl on the Train. But it’s not my preferred genre of book. The film has been criticised because it was based in the US where as the book was based in London, UK. I think it affected viewers ideas about the train scenes etc. Because I wasn’t really bothered by the book, I haven’t bothered with the film.

      Like

Leave a Reply

