Theme for 2017

After 2016 turned into a difficult and challenging year, I am very much looking forward to new directions in 2017.

During the latter half of 2016 my health and well-being took a real set back. I had been prioritising other things. I had been giving some sound advice all year to the people I manage. Eventually I started to hear the advice and take it on board for myself.

Image result for pour from an empty cup

A new year means a new direction and some different priorities. I have decided on an a core theme for 2017 – Image result for wellness

Wellness is the quality or state of being healthy in body and mind, especially as the result of deliberate effort.

Wellness is a conscious, self-directed and evolving process of achieving full potential

Applying a wellness approach can be useful in nearly every human endeavor.

It’s going to be running trough me like a stick of rock

Image result for stick of rock

Drawing on the work developed by Dr. Bill Hettler, co-founder of the National Wellness Institute (www.nationalwellness.org), I will be applying the theme by

  • Contributing to my local community – I am making plans for volunteering
  • Building my social network – through walking groups, volunteering, other groups and activities)
  • Reviewing and developing my belief systems, values – creating a life ethos driven by wellness
  • Prioritising regular physical activity, healthy eating habits, strength and vitality – getting back to walking, swimming, yoga and eventually running.
  • Taking personal responsibility –  focusing on self-care
  • Maximising self-control and determination as a sense of direction
  • Creative and stimulating activities and sharing with others (I have loads of crafting to get stuck into, Santa also brought me lots of equipment and books for growing  fruit and veggies and I am back in Blogland!)

Have you set some priorities for 2017?

What’s your theme for the year ahead?

30 thoughts on “Theme for 2017

  1. I’m just getting my blog started @chickspeabee.wordpress.com and I wanted to say that I really love the message your giving with this post! My blog is on health and wellness. If you wanted to check it out we could maybe connect and share ideas! Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I just did my own research. It depends what you want to get from the swim. I don’t do miles, just keep to the shore. Its just so nice to emerge yourself in nature, to be one with the environment. I watched a lot of informative videos on Youtube, trek and run online had some great videos on the Lake District swims. I also joined facebook pages on wild swimming and open water swimming, and love seeing other people’s experiences. I’ve not swam in the sea, I think I feel safe in lakes. I just got a swim suit, neoprene socks and gloves off ebay and a towel. You can get tow floats and thermometers also. I have David on shore as a spotter and photographer. I never swim further than my comfort zone. I’ve still not swam in wind or rain! Will you be swimming alone or with someone on shore? x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for these really good tips. I have seen the Fbook groups which I was going to join. I will make my other half come with me an stand on the shore if I can’t find a regular group to go out with. I will ave a look at you tube and look into the kit you’ve suggested. Much appreciated

        Liked by 1 person

      • Anytime :) I love talking about wild swimming, and sharing a little of what I know. It’s always nice to share it with others. Kate Rew book, wild swim is also good for inspiration. Do you have a place you want to swim first? I saw Derwentwater and just knew that was the first place I wanted to swim. Let me know how you get on. Any help with preparations, I am happy to help. I tend to plan swims with walks so I get the best of both worlds :) Happy swimming x

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list, Debra. Particularly your idea of starting or joining a walking group. I think walking around in nature, even if it is just a city park, is so beneficial in so many ways. Not only is it good physically, but it is casual enough that it can be done with others and involve time spent cultivating friendships.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t have a theme as such. I have ventures I’d like to explore, but mostly staying fit and well and getting out into the world are fine by me. Wishing you a more healthy 2017, and looking forward to walking with you. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think this is a great mission statement for the New Year! I have virtually the same list! I am going to sit down and plan some baby steps and some rewards to keep me on track. What are your rewards going to be? Looking forward to seeing your progress and your crafty makes! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Yes baby steps is good. The one major reward for me is that I have given up my job and I’m taking a few months out to focus on my wellness and all my other plans. It means I can really focus on creating the life and future that I need. It’s a bit scary living on just my rainy day savings but it needs to be done. I’m looking forward to following your blog. Wishing you all the best for 2017.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Happy new year Debra! I think you are wise to focus on wellness and start taking care of yourself. Your list seems like a great way to make this year a memorable, healthy and happy one.

    2016 was a challenging year for me: running out of money, job-hunting without success and various minor chronic health issues made it seem like a grim struggle at times. Volunteering for me was a life changer. I now volunteer with two different organisations and it has led to a part-time job, new friends and new confidence. Writing, blogging and other creative pursuits has also helped keep me (relatively..) sane.

    I think if I had to name a theme for 2017 it would be ‘Boldness’. That line from Goethe springs to mind: “Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now”.

    All the very best for 2017 and good luck in all your personal and creative projects!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

