December Monthly Reflections

Films & TV

One thing I do love about the festive season is there is festive  TV. Here are my highlights so far –

                                           Witness for the Prosecution                                          
The Witness for the Prosecution

             How to Train Your Dragon         
Image result for how to train your dragon

                     To Walk Invisible                          

Maigret’s Dead ManImage result for maigret's dead man

Secret Life of the Zoo at ChristmasImage result for secret life of the zoo bbc

 Books

Image result for the storyteller jodi

I haven’t been reading as much as I would liked recently. In December I did read –

                              The Storyteller by Jodi Picuoult

I found this a compelling read. It gives  personal account of Sage’s Grandmother’s experiences as a holocaust survivor. At times harrowing and distressing. I was amazed by the human capacity for survival in the most extreme circumstances. It also gives an account of the one of the Nazi soldiers. The book was engaging until the end.

Rated – 

 Gratitude

  • I find the build up to Christmas and the Christmas period difficult, missing absent loved ones. However, I am very grateful to have my family.
  • After a stressful December my little home has been a constant source of comfort. It was bliss to chill out at home after Christmas.
  • I am very grateful for the ongoing support from my family and friends in making the difficult to decision to leave my job at the end of this year.

Achievements

.:

Surviving the month and getting to the end of December just about in one piece, is definitely my biggest achievement.

I was also able to start making some plans for January and the year ahead. More on this later.

 

Finds

Image result for electric spiralizer

Well I was on Santa’s Good List so of my new finds for December was a present. I will be joining the world of the  – Spiralizer!

After a break I am really enjoying re-finding Blogland (a bit late to the December party).

5 Ways To Quiet Your Mind:

Room To Develop

December was a tough month so I’m going to acknowledge this and give myself a “Well Done” for getting through it.

 

Looking Forward to in January

  • Life, living and everything in it
  • A new year and a new direction
  • Prioritising exercise and healthy eating

What have been your highlights from December?

What are you looking forward to in January?

8 thoughts on “December Monthly Reflections

  1. Good on you for acknowledging that making it through a tough month is an accomplishment in and of itself! I have to remind myself to do the same quite often, that sometimes just making through a given season in life is something to be proud of.

    Also, your spiralizer looks fancy! Hope you post some food photos once you use it. Santa must have thought I was nice in the kitchen this year as well, because I received a sous vide machine.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I’m starting my new life by not giving myself a hard time or judging myself. I wouldn’t do it with my friends so why do it to myself! I have a few recipes to try so I’ll report back. A lot of the top chefs use a sous vide. I hope to see some photos of all your amazing dishes.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi I do love How To train your dragon.I was told recently that Toothless was modelled on a cat. My cat looks looks alot like Toothless! What channel was the Bronte sisters drama on? I completely forgot about it. I am looking forward to Sherlock on New Years Day! The spiralizer looks interesting. I have never had one but I bet it will help with a healthy January.x

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are saving How to train your dragon 2 for new years day chill out. To Walk Invisible was on BBC 1 last night. It was good. It really made me appreciate how amazing the Brontë sisters were. They filmed a lot in Haworth so very realistic. It made me want to re-visit the Brontë Museum & Parsonage. It will be heaving with visitors now! Oooo yes looking forward to Sherlock and Taboo (that looks good too). I’m still not sure about spiralizer courgette instead of pasta but I will give it a go!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

