Shopping for Time

I am a bit of a book buyer. I probably have enough books to last me about 3 years. Yet I still find myself being sucked into book shops and feel compelled to buy books. Some time ago I saw this quote and it got me thinking.

Is this what underlies my booking buying? I think it might be. I do find myself sometimes looking longingly at my bookshelves, hoping for some free time just to sit and read books. I think there is a part of me that thinks that by buying books, it will somehow magically create the time in my life to read them.

It’s not just my book buying habits that can be explained by this desire. I think it may explain some of my other shopping habits too. The other items that I often feel compelled to buy are handcraft things. I have a decent amount of card making and decopatch supplies and I still find myself occasionally buying some more. I never seem to have the time to actually use them but I still really want to. I have recently spent quite a bit of time shopping on line for a lovely range of handcraft supplies – felting kit, pompom makers, lots of colourful buttons, more decopatch and card making supplies and the list goes on…………

I went through a stage a couple of years ago in buying colourful jigsaws, most of which live under a bed gathering dust. The ironic thing is that if I spent less time shopping, I might just have more time to read books, make cards, do jigsaws and make a lovely range of handcrafts.

On a recent holiday, I spent quite a bit of time collecting shells and interesting rocks, planning little art projects, as I walked along the shores of Loch Fyne in Scotland. So it’s not just about shopping.

It’s about gathering and then having these ‘magical’ items. Once I have these items, it might just create the time and space for the things I really want to do – mmmmm really! What was my weird brain thinking? It just doesn’t work like that. I’ve been shopping for time.

Understanding and reflecting on what underlies these shopping habits is helping me to focus on what I really want to make space for in my life. It’s not shopping. I need to make time not try to shop for it. 

Has anyone else found themselves shopping for time? Do you have any shopping habits? What do your shopping habits say about you?

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Shopping for Time

  1. that quote is so true! I have about 5 books right now that I’m just dying to read but never find the time! it’s a goal of mine this summer, to finally finish some! great post! look forward to keeping up with more of your posts! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m exactly the same! I have such a huge collection of unread books, not to mention the crafting situation. It’s just one of those things I keep putting off but I will get round to it someday :/ haha xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s good to know I’m not the only one. I’ve been busy this week sorting all my craft stuff into a new set of storage drawers. It’s more accessible and I know what I’ve got now. Hopefully, it will spur me on to do some!

      Like

Leave a Reply

