Living with a broken heart

So I have been absent from Blogland for a few weeks.

After 13 years of love, my adorable 14 year old rescue babydog, Red went to sleep on Friday 3rd June. Hs health had deteriorated significantly over the last few months – advanced osteoarthritis, dementia, liver and kidney deterioration and then symptoms indicating he might have developed a tumour in his nose. Life had become a daily struggle for him.

We found him in a rescue centre as a 14 month old. Scared and extremely thin, having come from an abusive home. We had no idea how much he would transform our lives. I loved Red with all my heart and soul.

I know it was the right thing to do and he went quickly and peacefully at home in my arms.

Life without him will never be the same again. Our home feels empty and my heart is broken.

Rest in peace Red. I miss you so much.

 

40 thoughts on “Living with a broken heart

  1. My sympathies to you for the loss of Red. What a great photo! It should be one that you’ll always have to be proud of, and, most important, hold close to your heart! It sounds as though Red’s symptoms mirrored my Casey’s in her 14th year a few years ago. Oh, how it’s so hard to let them go–and I think of her daily– but we know they’re roaming free as pups once more, healthy, happy, and full of themselves! Hang in there and cherish the time that Red was faithfully at your side and so thankful for your kindness. Here’s to Red…and Casey! Love you, dogs!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thank you so much for such a lovely message. It’s very appreciated and ha really helped to know others understand how I feel. Yes – this photo of Red, which is actually bigger and shows amazing views from one of our favourite places, is very much treasured. It sounds like you know what I am going through. At least we were able to support them to bring their suffering to an end, in a kind and gentle way. Wishing you all the best with your blog. Looking forward to checking out some of your posts in future. Debra

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww! I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing a fur baby is horrible and rough. I have lost a couple myself and it never gets easier. They are your constant companions and love you no matter what. It sounds like Red had a long and happy life with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Heather. Yes – Red was my fur baby. I really miss him, especially the cuddles after a tough day at work. My stress levels caused by work have increased significantly since I lost him. I think he was key in helping me cope with difficult times. I just need to find some new strategies now.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. Yes – Red was my family so it’s a big loss in my life. Thanks for the reminder about being kind to myself. I have just being trying to carry on but it’s not always easy.

      Like

  3. So so sorry to hear about your beautiful Red. It sounds like he had a wonderful life with you. When our Jake had to go to sleep we missed him so much and still do.They become family and the dynamics of our life and relationship felt incomplete.After a year we did feel ready to welcome another lovely dog (Hugo) into our home.But whether you do or not ,remember the good times and all the love Red gave you.He will be happy and healthy now.I like to imagine Jake bounding around fields with his tail whizzing round like a propeller,free from pain and with a mouth full of sticks. Love to you.xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Shazza for your lovely comment. This really sums up our life at the moment – ‘the dynamics of our life and relationship felt incomplete’. We are trying to adapt but I know it will take a long time. I feel blessed to have had Red in my life.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dogs never die. They don’t know how. They live on in your heart. When you feel that flutter of joy, that feeling of love, that pure joy it’s them wagging their tail in their new home.

    I’m sorry for your loss.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I am so sorry for your loss. He is a beautiful dog, and I know that he will stay in your heart forever. It is such a difficult thing, to let a dog pass over the rainbow bridge, but he is free again. Please know that you are in my thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

