Keep your head in the clouds

Gavin Pretor-Pinney, founder of the Cloud Appreciation Society, calls for us all to take a step off the digital treadmill, lie back and admire the beauty in the sky above. This is one of my favourite TED Talks – Cloudy with a chance of joy. 

What a wonderful way to spend time outdoors, relaxing, taking some time out and appreciating nature.

If it got you thinking about clouds a bit more. Here’s another great little video from The UK Met Office a – Cloud Spotting Guide.

It really made me want to get outside, find a comfortable spot, sit down and look up – so that’s what I did.

Here are my sky blue cloudspotting photos taken near to where I live.

The Manifesto of The Cloud Appreciation Society

We think that they are Nature’s poetry, and the most egalitarian of her displays, since

everyone can have a fantastic view of them.

We seek to remind people that clouds are expressions of the atmosphere’s moods, and can be read like those of a person’s countenance.

We believe that clouds are for dreamers and their contemplation benefits the soul.

And so we say to all who’ll listen: Look up, marvel at the ephemeral beauty, and live life with your head in the clouds!

 

#coloryourworld 120 Days of Crayola

Today’s colour is Sky Blue

Have you ever spent some time cloudspotting? If not, are you more tempted to look up now?

15 thoughts on “Keep your head in the clouds

  1. I love your photos. Laying under the trees in our backyard and making cloud-pictures was one of my favorite things to do with my kids. I still do this in the summer with the girls that I babysit. It’s just great fun and is so peaceful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember vividly as a child lieing in meadows of grass , just staring up at the clouds in the sky.Its been a while.Clouds seem so otherworldly I have to remind myself that they are part of our world,almost! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

