March Reflections

March Films & TV

The Lady in the Van – I was fortunate enough to see the play written by Alan Bennett, The Lady in the Van,  at the theatre some years ago. It was brilliant so I have been looking froward to the film for some time. I also really enjoyed the film. It was heartwarming, entertaining, funny and heartbreaking. Maggie Smith, who plays Mary Shepard, is excellent throughout. I think she is an amazing actress. The film captured a time and a place in the UK really well. It tells the true story of Mary Shepherd, an elderly woman who lived in a dilapidated van on Bennett’s driveway in London for 15 years. It’s                                                                   an incredible story about an incredible woman.

Rated – 

 

The Man Fom U.N.C.L.E – I also really enjoyed this film. I have not seen the original mid-to-late 1960s television series of the same name, so I just had to take this  at face value. I loved atmosphere of the film – very sleek and 1960’s. I’m not generally a big fan of spy films (having never managed to sit through an entire James Bond film) but this was an entertaining spy caper that didn’t seem to take itself too seriously. International intrigue and escapist fun, that doesn’t depend on having any foreknowledge of the original series in order to enjoy this new adventure.

Rated – 

March Books

This is the second boom in a trilogy. I really enjoyed the fist book – Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the second book as much. I realised upon reading the second book, that the bits I most enjoyed in the first book were those parts set in Prague and the human world. Sadly for me there is not so much of that in the second book. This second book feels much darker and grimmer. Lots of violence, killing and blood and very little starlight. At times, I couldn’t keep track of who was who or who was killing who. There was just too much pointless fighting and war for my liking. It just lost my interest. I will read the third book in the trilogy because I do like the main character and I do want to see how it all ends. 

Rated – 

I have previously read books by Rachel Hore and really enjoyed them. Unfortunatley at times I struggled through this one. The last 1/4 of the book was much more engaging. I think it was the setting for me, with some of it based in a church and a vicarge, which I just couldn’t relate to. A lot of the characters were just not that engaging either. I think what I enjoyed most about the previous books by the same author was the settings, which I could relate to, visualise and enjoy. This book just felt overly long. I will read another book by this author but I will be more selective about the setting of the book in future.

Rated – 

March Gratitude

At the beginning of this month I was very grateful to have a little holiday in one of my favourite places – St Ives, Cornwall. We enjoyed some relaxing, exploring, shopping, eating and drinking. It all seems like a distant memory now though and I feel read for another holiday already!

I’ve been having a lot of back, neck and shoulder problems for a few months. My wonderful chiropractor has suggested it might be in part caused by a magnesium deficiency. They suggested magnesium spray to help. It has already started to make a massive difference, reducing the pain and discomfort and improving my general well being. Hooray for magnesium spray!

March Achievements

As some of you might remeber, I started a new job in January. I agreed to help out for a couple of months but picking up an extra late shift every Monday. I’m more than happy to do my share of the lates but I soon realised I’d been asked to pick it up it because no one else had been willing to in the past. There were a lot of issues that I had to address on the late that had been caused by a lack of staffing in the past. As time when on, I realised that what I had agreed to as a temporary measure, some how others had started to perceive as a permanent arrangement. I have been very assertive in raising my unhappiness about the situation. I have offered to do my share of the lates, suggesting it is shared amongst our team of 7.  I am very pleased that my assertive persistence on this matter has now brought about a more fairer resolution. Result!

In attempt to manage my hideous workload I have started using the website todoist to list my all my tasks, arrange them into categories and priroritse them. This feels so much more organised. So far, so good. Although the amount of tasks can feel a little bit overwhelming.

March Finds

IMG_2095

As you know if you follow my blog, I found a lovely independent shop that was a a pamper heaven for me. The products are free from all the nasties – parabens, SLS etc and not tested on animals. Made from natural, botanical ingredients and they list all ingredients on items and go into detail on their website. I am looking forward to enjoying my pamper treats over the coming months. For more information – www.purenuffstuff.co.uk

March Favourites 

Towards the end of March the clocks moved forward one hour. Yes, that means we loose and hours sleep but luckily it was the 4 day Easter Weekend so plenty of time for sleeping! This means lighter evenings from now on. I really, really appreciate the lighter evenings after the long, dark winter months. I feel more energised and motivated. 

March Room To Develop

So the whole work life balance thing still as room for development. Although not having to work late every Monday night is definitely going to help. Upon reflection, I think it’s a more broader issue than I first thought. I have been looking into a number of well being issues that I think impact on my work life balance. I am starting to forumalte a bit of a plan.  I will be exploring some of these on the blog in future.

Looking Forward to April

The days are lighter, longer and warmer. The fileds are full of new born lambs and there are flowers growing across the land. How wonderful!

April is my niece’s 4th Birthday so we are having a Birthday Party. She is now at an age where she can really appreciate and participate. I am sure this will be great fun, if not a little exhausting! I’m looking forward to gaining some precious memories.

 

What have been your highlights from March?

What are you looking forward to in April?

 

10 thoughts on “March Reflections

  1. Great round up post! Hurrah for magnesium spray indeed 😊 I’ve recently watched Man from U.N.C.L.E. and loved it! Working on the work-life balance too. Look forward to hearing your suggestions/plan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve wanted to see the film The Lady in the Van, and now I know I’ve got to watch it. Hopefully I’ll be able to get it from Netflix. I have been taking Magnesium for years for pain. I had no idea it came in a spray. I’m going to see if I can find it somewhere. I like how much you got done in March! April is spring cleaning, finishing my coaching course (and starting a new one) and writing at least three chapters in my kids book – big plans, and hopeful about them. Good luck with yours. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sounds like you have some exciting plans. I’m no expert on Magnesium but my understanding is that using the spray directly on the skin (transdermal) is the most effective way for the body to absorb Magnesium. You can also target the specific source of pain and get specific sprays for joints or muscle. I’ve been using Betteryou Magnesium oil from the local health shop. It’s not cheap but it’s been very effective.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a couple of nice things to look forward to in April including a Real Ale Rail Trail day out which I bought the Other Half for his birthday. I love April as a time to look for wildlife.So many spring flowers appear. When I hear the call of the curlew too, I know that Spring has arrived.I certainly appreciate the lighter nights and am looking forward to getting out and about more with the dog, April can only be good! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

