The Hearth of the Home

Historically the hearth provided the main source of heat for the home, as well as being the place where most of the cooking was done. Naturally, the fireplace evolved into the central gathering place for the family and the hearth became synonymous with home – especially during the long winter months.

“For me it is sufficient to have a corner by my hearth, a book and a friend, and a nap undisturbed by creditors or grief.”     Fernandez de Andrada

In Greek mythology, Hestia is the goddess of the hearth, while in Roman mythology Vesta has the same role. In ancient Persia, in Zoroastrian traditions every house was expected to have a hearth for offering sacrifices and prayers.

For many years, my home had a ineffective chrome style gas fire. I hated it. I longed for a real fire, like I had as a small child and like my Nanna & Grandad’s. I have very fond memories of sitting in front of their real fire as a child. A true place of contentment. I was fortunate enough to replace the horrible gas fire with a stove. It has totally transformed our living room and our home. Even when it’s not lit it is a focal point for our home. With a antique Victorian cooking pot as a coal bucket and an antique Chinese style carrying basket for logs.

The hearth of my home in spring time 

Plum

“The Hearth am I…the deep heart of the dwelling.

A pleasant nook for ease and storytelling,

Where friendship’s flame shall find a glad renewal

While mirth and kindly chat supply the fuel”

 

#coloryourworld 120 Days of Crayola

Today’s colour is Plum

Does your home have a hearth? If not, what is the focal point of your home?

 

8 thoughts on “The Hearth of the Home

  1. Oh lovely.Sadly my home has a horrible gas fire.:( Hopefully oneday we will get a real fire.When we go away in a holidaycottage we always try and get one with a wood burner.Nothing quite like it.:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

