The Tea Fields & Sigiriya – Sri Lanka

A few year ago I was fortunate enough to visit Sri Lanka. One of the the highlights of the tip was a visit to the area of the tea fields. The top left photo shows just how amazing the tea fields on the hillsides are. There was tea growing as far at the eye could see. We visited a tea plantation and had a tour of the tea producion process. Still traditionally picked by hand (see the photograph I took). It gave me a new found appreciation of tea. In one day an experienced tea picker can collect around 70 pounds of tea! That’s enough tea to make 14000 cups.

Tea production is one of the main sources of income for Sri Lanka (formerly  Ceylon). The humidity, cool temperatures, and rainfall of the country’s central highlands provide the ideal climate for the production of high-quality tea. This climate will also explain the beautiful waterfalls that surround the area of the tea plantations.

For more information – www.ceylonteamuseum.com

Another highlight of my trip to Sri Lanka was climbing to the top of Sigiriya – a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ancient City of Sigiriya is now a ruin of the capital built by the parricidal King Kassapa I (477–95) on the steep slopes and at the summit of a granite peak standing some 180m high (the ‘Lion’s Rock’, which dominates the jungle from all sides). A series of galleries and staircases provide access to the site.

The two bottom photos show the incredible views from the of the from the top of Sigiriya, where the palace is located. This is a very interesting place with historical significance.

For more information – seelanka.net:sigiriya

Have you ever visited Sri Lanka? How about another country that provides the world with tea? Are you a tea drinker? If so, how do you prefer your tea?

Today’s colour is jungle green

#coloryourworld 120 Days of Crayola

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Tea Fields & Sigiriya – Sri Lanka

  1. I have colleagues from Sri Lanka and every time they’re back from vacation, they brought me some Tea. The taste was distinct . I treasure that.
    Your photos are awesome.I have never been to Sri Lanka and this made me wonder how to see this beautiful greens in my own eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These photos are stunning! I love the waterfall.

    I’ve never been to Sri Lanka. I like black tea. Currently I buy Tetley’s English Breakfast Tea because it’s practically the only one here that comes in boxes of 100 tea bags (Swiss brands mainly contain 25, which would last me maaaaybe a week!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

