The Beauty of Sand – Look a Little Closer

DSCF2667
Amazing beach,Wells By Sea, Norfolk
DSCF2660
Beautiful beach huts, Wells By The Sea, Norfolk

The most wonderful aspects of sand are hidden from the normal human eye. For a greater appreciation of the beauty of sand I recommend you check out  Gary Greenberg’s photographs of what sand looks like under a microscope – Sand Looks Unbelievably Cool Under a Microscope.

It really is amazing stuff.

One of life’s great little pleasures for me is walking barefoot in golden sand.

I find sand fascinating. I love playing with sand on the beach. As I mentioned in  my a previous post, I am planning to spend some building a sandcastle this summer if I can get to the beach.

Wells By The Sea is a beautiful beach with a vast expanse of golden sand. A lovely place for barefoot walking.

I would also like to pass on my thanks to  Why Me? by An Ordinary Girl for nominating me for a quote challenge.

So here are 3 nice quotes about sand –

“Write your troubles in the sand and the blessings in stone” (Unknown).

“The more sand that has escaped from the hourglass of our life, the clearer we should see through it.” (Jean-Paul Sartre)

“In every outthrust headland, in every curving beach, in every grain of sand there is the story of the earth.” (Rachel Carson)

#coloryourworld 120 Days of Crayola. Today’s colour is desert sand

Are you a beach lover? Where is your favourite bit of sand/beach?When did you last build a sandcastle?

10 thoughts on “The Beauty of Sand – Look a Little Closer

  1. Hmmm, I am a beach person, but it depends on the beach I’m on. The Jersey shore is great, but Aruba is 10x better. I also like pink beaches to white beaches. My favorite part of the beach would be the shoreline, where the waves come. The last time I built a sand castle was about a year ago. I forgot to build a sandcastle in Aruba, but I attempted to build one on the Jersey shore, but it kept falling apart!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice pictures and it looks a lovely place! Thanks for the link too, his sand grain photos are amazing, I didn’t think they were real for a while, but then clicked on a further link to his website and there are loads of others like it, just beautiful! By the way, I love sand. Making sandcastles, the feel of it between my fingers and toes and am amazed by the way that it can look and feel so different on each beach, maybe next time I’ll take a microscope!! ;-)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

