The Industrial Flame Plant – the colour of copper

Copper.JPG

#coloryourworld 120 Days of Crayola

Today’s crayola colour is copper

I took this photo at The Eden Project of The Industrial Flame Plant. The sculpture in the outside garden area. It’s a really interesting piece of art with an important message.

Information about taken from The Eden Project –

This industrial plant sculpture takes a sideways look at fossil fuels.

Fossil fuels currently provide some 85% of the world’s energy. The developed world (around 16% of the global population) uses over 50% of this energy, while nearly half the world’s people rely on wood, charcoal and dung.

Unlike fossil fuels, which come from plants that died millions of years ago, these renewable plant-based fuels are essentially ‘carbon neutral’. That means the amount of carbon dioxide absorbed during their growth is equal to the amount emitted on burning.

Around the sculpture are planted examples of crops which are burnt in some power stations as biomass, such as willow, poplar and miscanthus.

I have to admit when I first saw this sculpture, I thought it was something to do with opium poppies, it’s what some of the plant bits reminded me of. I’m glad I could read about to getting a better understanding.

The Eden Project will feature in some of my future posts as part of this challenge.

For more information see – The Eden Project

If you know of any sculptures or pieces of art with an important message, I would love to hear about them so I can check them out. Have you visited The Eden Project or any similar projects? If so what stood out for you?

11 thoughts on “The Industrial Flame Plant – the colour of copper

  1. I’ve not been there yet and keep forgetting to go. My daughter visited a couple of years ago and enjoyed it.
    I’ve been to Wisley Gardens and Kew Gardens before.
    As for sculptures or statues none spring to mind a find the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know this is a bit off topic, but looking at the sculpture reminded me of things I have seen in the Gibli movies from Japan (Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, etc.). The purpose of that structure is really important. We need to think more about how we are using the earth and the effects of it. Sadly, too many people are content to maintain the status quo.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

