I Spy Book Challenge 2016

Find time for reading: So one of my big adventures this year has been to start this blog. I am loving Blog Land and all the lovely people I have met along the way. However, the time spent on developing my blog and following fellow bloggers, has meant I have neglected other things in my life. Now I’m on a blog roll (long may it continue), I hope it will be less all consuming.

One of the things I am planning to get back to is reading more fiction. To help inspire this I have joined my first ever book challenge!

So one of my goals for 2016 is the –

I SPY: BOOK TITLES EDITION CHALLENGE – Goodreads.

A quick summary – Read a book that contains in its title a word that can be found in each of the classic book titles. The word needs to be there in its entirety; however, homographs (words that are spelled the same but mean different things) and words within words count. Articles (a, and, the) and any two letter words do not count.

You can pick your own books and pick the number  of books you are aiming to read.

I really like the freedom, flexibility and creativity of this challenge.

I currently have over 60 fiction books on my TBR bookshelf waiting to be discovered so I’m hoping this challenge will inspire me.

Duration: January 1 – December 31, 2016

As it’s my first challenge and I like to take my time reading and enjoy it, I’ve put myself down for 10 books. I hope to do more than this though.

Here is the list of classic book titles, as per the Goodreads Challenge. I have added in blue the books I am considering reading for each classic book title.

Of Mice and Men – (The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett)

A Tale of Two Cities – (A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki)

Gone with the Wind – (The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss)

A Wrinkle in Time – (Time and Time Again by Ben Elton) 

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn –

The Little Prince –  (The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters) or (The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg)

 Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass –  (The Glass Painter’s Daughter by Rachel Hore)

Brave New World – (The Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence) or (Lovers and Newcomers by Rosie Thomas)                                           

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? – (The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon) or (Ghost of a Dream by Simon Green)

The Joy Luck Club

The Diary of a Young Girl – (The Italian Girl by Lucinda Riley) or (The Girl Who Just Appeared by Jonathan Harvey)                                                                

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – (The Gravity of Birds by Tracy Guzeman)

The Book Thief – (The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman)

The God of Small Things – (When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman) or (The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly )

Around the World in 80 Days – (Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor)

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time (The Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zeafon)  or (Jasmine Nights by Julia Gregson) or (Another Night, Another Day by Sarah Rayner)         

The Time Traveler’s Wife – (The Spice Merchant’s Wife by Charlotte Betts) or (The Railwayman’s Wife by Ashley Hay)                                                  

All Quiet on the Western Front – (The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer)    

The Old Man and the Sea – (The Sea Change by Joanna Rossiter)              

Where the Red Fern Grows – (The Red House by Mark Haddon)            

Island of the Blue Dolphins – (Silver: Return to Treasure Island by Andrew Motion) or (Ellis Island by Kate Kerrigan) or (Small Island by Andrea Levy)

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

Girl With a Pearl Earring – (Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl  by David Barnett)

The Call of the Wild – (The First Phone Call From Heaven by Mitch Albom)

The Good Earth – Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman)

Climb inside: There a small number of classic book titles that I don’t have books for yet. I have only put myself down for 10 books. However, if anyone can recommend a book where I am missing a title, I would love to hear from you.

For more info check out: Goodreads I Spy Book Titles Challenge. 

Is anyone else taking up a book challenge in 2016? It would be great if you wanted to join me in my reading challenge – everyone welcome!

15 thoughts on “I Spy Book Challenge 2016

  1. Oh that’s an interesting challenge. I want to get around to reading more of what is on my shelves whilst not missing out on some great releases. Trying to figure out how to juggle this. Good luck with your challenge! :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This looks like a lot of fun! Last year I took up the goodreads reading challenge and will do so again! I too have been neglecting other areas of life for developing my blog, so I understand where you’re coming from. Good luck on your 10+ books challenge. I believe you can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Where the red fern Grows. Could work (if you haven’t read it), this is a neat way to find new books, I like it (it’s also an excuse to wander the book store so that’s another win).

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

