Steampunk Festival in Bronte Village

htYv0LNQ

This weekend I went to my first Steampunk Festival in the beautiful village of Haworth, West Yorkshire. Home of the world famous literary family – the Brontes.  It was wonderful to see everyone in their amazing costumes. There was a very creative, friendly atmosphere in a setting synonymous with the Victorian era.

Steampunk started as a sub-genre of science fiction and fantasy in the literary world. Inspired by 19th-century industrial steam-powered machinery. It is definitely a creative and imaginative movement.  Often with a backdrop of Victorian England modern technologies are re-imagined and realized as elaborate works of art, fashion, accessories and mechanics. There is now a whole lifestyle associated with Steampunk with a number films, books and festivals dedicated to the movement.

It was a great day out. We hope to go back next year, next time we might event be wearing our own Steampunk outfits!

All the photos in this article where taken by me (c) Cultivating Time, when I visited the in November 2015. Please give me credit if you use my images – Thank You.

Has anyone else ventured in the world of steampunk? Do you have any local festivals? If you could recommend any steampunk themed books or films, I would love to here from you.

23 thoughts on “Steampunk Festival in Bronte Village

    • Thank you for commenting. I’m glad you like the photos. Steampunk is really massive including in the U.S. I didn’t realise just how big it was. It might be worth having a look on google for Steampunk Festivals. I’ve found a lot in the UK.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure there will be Steampunk events in London. The setting in Haworth is great though. Funny you should mention literature. I met a Steampunk author at the event – David Barnett. I bought his 3 books of the ‘Gideon Smith’ Trilogy. My first Steampunk novels!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. So upset I didn’t know about this. Being in Yorkshire myself it would have made a great weekend trip. I’ll have to remember for next year! First saw Steam Punk at Comic Con about ten years ago – I think it’s awesome, I’d wear the look all the time if I dared!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • It’s a great look but a tad impractical for the modern world. You could spend a fortune n your style. There was great stuff being sold. Yes – put it in your calendar for next year. I’m hoping to go next year – in full costume of course! Thank you for commenting Haylee. Much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I had heard of steam punk, but I had no idea what it was until now… I want those outfits…. all of them… especially the tiny hat on the woman in red! This is so freakin’ cute I want to explode. I will definitely be googling this to look further into it. Thank you for sharing these photos!

    Leona

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That looks like a lot of fun. “Perdido Street Station” is a kind of take on the Steampunk genre as is “The Scar” both by China Mieville. They aren’t pure steampunk but there are similarities. The video game “Dishonoured” also takes place in a Steampunk kind of world (technically it’s whale punk because they use whale oil for power but very similar). It’s a cool sub genre to explore and I find it wonderfully creative.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Craig – I will check out those suggestions. I love books. I’m not a gamer really but you never know – I wasn’t into Steampunk until yesterday! I like the idea that it’s technically ‘whale punk’ – hahaha – there’s a whole new world out there. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Really pleased look like the photos Charlotte. I was new to Steampunk before we went. I think now I’m hooked. It’s so creative and imaginative. Thanks for the book recommendation – I will definitely look at that one. I actually bought all 3 books in the Gideon Smith trilogy, signed copies. I met the author David Barnett at the festival. I couldn’t resist. Have you heard of them?

      Liked by 2 people

      • I totally agree, steampunk is strangely addicting! I wasn’t exposed to it until a sci-fi/comic convention four years ago, when I fell in love with the technology and fashion of steampunk. I’ve not read the Gideon Smith trilogy, but it sounds excellent! I’ll have to look for Mr Barnett’s books at my local library! Charlotte x

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

